annual meeting of the Belgian Draft Horse Corporation members

When: Friday, December 1, 2023

Where: Farmstead Inn Shipshewana, IN

Members are invited to a banquet that will be held prior to the annual meeting. Members will receive an invitation in the mail enclosed with a banquet reservation form. Please continue to visit the website for more information.


Hotel Information

A block of rooms has been reserved at the Farmstead Inn- 370 South Van Buren Street Shipshewana, IN. Rooms are $149 a night, please call the Farmstead Inn at 260-768-4595 and ask for the Belgian Draft Horse Member Meeting rates. All rooms must be reserved by November 1, 2023, to get the discount.

Bus Tour Reservations

Please continue to visit the website for updates.

Meet the 2023 Candidates!

Mark Bower- Coon Rapids, IA
Jim Carey- Sheridan, IN
Jerry Maker- Strawberry Point, IA

Statement of Policy:  Being a leader in organizations and congregations in the past gives me a working knowledge of how things get done in large groups. As a farmer and crop advisor, I learned to identify a problem, create a solution and implement the correct response. I believe that experience would be valuable to this organization. The Belgian horse has been a big part of our farm and family for nearly 40 years, and we have learned much in that time. Working with others to preserve the integrity of the Belgian horse would be an honor.

Educational Background: Attended Ball State University before joining the U.S. Navy with a tour of duty on the rivers in Vietnam.

Occupation: Retired Farmer

History with Belgians:  In 1990, My wife Lynn and I bought our first registered Belgian brood mare. We currently own 6 head of registered Belgians and raise 1-3 foals per year.  We attend a few major shows each year with the help of our daughter, grandchildren and great grandchildren.

Memberships in other Organizations:  I have served on our local Township Zoning board, Township Advisory Board, Indiana Draft Horse Association, Indiana Belgian Breeders, Indiana Livestock Breeders Committee, Belgian Draft Horse Corp. Committees, and currently serving as Vice-president and director on the Belgian Draft Horse Corporation Board.

Statement of Policy:  As owners of the Belgian horse, I believe we are individually responsible for being the promoters of our breed. The modern Belgian horse owner must find his own rewards in a variety of ways in this diverse industry. Being obtainable to the membership and helping with the Belgian Alliance programs has helped me understand the duties and responsibilities as a board member. If re-elected I will continue to support our youth programs, shows, sales, in addition to state and national activities. It has been a privilege and honor to help maintain the highest possible standards of the Belgian horse and I will continue to help preserve the values of its’ pedigree if re-elected to our board.

Educational Background:  Graduate of Starmont Highschool and World Wide Auction College.

Occupation: Farmer and Owner/Manager of Edgewood Livestock Commission

History with Belgians: Member of the Belgian Draft Horse Corporation of America since 1988. I have shown halter and a hitch of Belgian mares since 1988. Currently, I am raising 8-12 foals per year and reside approximately 35 head breeding program. Four out of the six mares in our hitch are home raised.

Memberships in other Organizations: 20-year member of Edgewood Chamber of Commerce, 10 years as the president of Clayton County Cattlemen (board member for 28 years).

Statement of Policy:  I will bring my many years of board and leadership experience to help grow the Belgian Draft Horse Corporation through effective communication amongst the board and corporation members. I will bring my lifelong passion for the breed to help promote and facilitate the growth of the Belgian breed throughout North America.

Herman Miller- Ligonier, IN
Chad Mrozinski- New Carlisle, IN
Lawrence (Larry) Piergallini- Dillonvale, OH

Occupation: Owner and manager of egg layer chicken farm of approximately 54,000 hens.

History with Belgians: In the late 70s, as a young boy, I had the privilege of coming along side my dad, grandfather and extended family in learning to appreciate the Belgian horse. We farmed with Belgian horses and also bred and foaled mares. In 1995, my wife, Julie, and I started our own Belgian breeding program under the prefix Hickland Belgians. We keep about 5 to 6 broodmares and like to participate in halter shows whenever time allows.

Memberships in other Organizations: Member and Vice President of the Indiana Belgian Draft Horse Association and member of the Nappanee Missionary Church

Statement of Policy: As a director of the Belgian Draft Horse Corporation of America, I will work to promote and uphold the history and integrity of the Belgian breed. I will always be open to the members concerns and ever- changing need of the Belgian Horse

Educational Background:  Washington High School

Occupation:  Farmer 

History with Belgians:  I’m a 3rd Generation of showcasing the Belgian breed. The Mrozinski family has been involved with Belgians since the mid 1970’s, at the age of 6 started learning from my grandfather.  I got my first Belgian at the age of 10 and right then I was hooked. Currently my wife and kids love showing at County Fairs, Regional Shows and Indiana State Fair supporting our Belgians.   Training, Shoeing, Showing, Judging and Educating has been a great way for myself to keep involved the past 25 years. Since 2019 I’ve been the chairman of the LaPorte County Draft Horse Show.

 Memberships in other Organizations:

4-H Leader LaPorte County Draft Horse Club, LaPorte County Draft Horse Association Member, Chairman of the LaPorte County Draft Horse Show, Former Belgian Alliance Board Member (2013-2019), NABC X Board Member

Statement of Policy:

My contribution towards the Belgian Corporation would be that I would be a great Ambassador.  Every organization needs someone to communicate and bring awareness of their product— Belgian Breed is that product that I’ve known.  My enthusiasm for the breed is what would pull people together, get our membership involved again. We have great individuals on the board now, I’ll always help support the Belgian Breed today and in the future.

Educational Background:  Bachelor Degree (1977) from the School of Agriculture Ohio State University Law Degree (1980) from the Ohio State University School of Law.

Occupation: Attorney and farm 600 acres (Beef cattle and Belgian horses)

History with Belgians:  I began showing Belgian horses with my wife’s parents in 1976. I bought my first registered Belgian horse in 1982. I became a lifetime member of the Belgian Draft Horse Corporation in 1987. I own approximately 15 breeding horses and foal 3-6 colts per year. I show halter horses at 5-6 major shows per year. I have also assisted in the operation of the Buckeye Draft Horse Sale for the past 21 years. I have been a director of the Belgian Draft Horse Corporation for 6 years.

Memberships in other Organizations:  Buckeye Draft Horse Sale Committee, member of the Ohio Belgian Association, member of the Jefferson County and Ohio State Bar Associations. Lifetime member of the American Quarter Horse Association.

Statement of Policy:  My business and legal experience along with a 40-year relationship with the Belgian horse, should be an asset to the board and membership.

Pictures from the 2022 Annual Meeting